

REVISED City of Alexandria, Virginia

MEMORANDUM

DATE: NOVEMBER 5, 2021

TO: THE HONORABLE MEMBERS OF CITY COUNCIL

FROM: JUSTIN M. WILSON, MAYOR /s/

DOCKET TITLE:

Establishment of Ad Hoc Committees for Advising City Council on the City Manager Selection Process.

<u>ISSUE</u>: As part of the City Manager hiring process, three ad hoc committees are proposed to advise City Council during the City Manager selection process.

<u>RECOMMENDATION</u>: That City Council:

- (1) Receive a list of persons proposed to serve on the three proposed City Manager Selection Advisory Committees, including:
 - a) Stakeholder Committee to Advise City Council on the City Manager Selection;
 - b) Employee Committee to Advise City Council on the City Manager Selection;

- c) Leadership Committee to Advise City Council on the City Manager Selection; and
- (2) Approve establishment of these three ad hoc City Manager selection advisory committees, as well as appoint to these committees the persons listed in this memorandum.

BACKGROUND: The Alexandria City Council is conducting a national search for a new City Manager for the City of Alexandria. Current City Manager Mark Jinks, who has previously announced his impending retirement, will remain in his position through the duration of the search and will retire when his replacement begins.

City Council, to which the City Manager reports, is coordinating and conducting the process for choosing a successor. City Council has contracted with talent acquisition firm POLIHIRE to conduct a nationwide recruiting search. Since July, the search efforts have included robust community engagement and a town hall for City employees to provide feedback. Based on its recruitment efforts, POLIHIRE has narrowed down a list of potential candidates and the interview process will begin in early November. City Council is expected to announce its selection of a new City Manager by the end of November.

AD HOC CITY MANAGER ADVISORY SELECTION COMMITTEES:

The purpose of the three ad hoc committees is to represent City stakeholders, employees and employee leadership in advising City Council in regard to the selection of the new City Manager. The committees will meet and interview the finalist and then will advise City Council. The Mayor will designate the convenor of each of these three committees.

The Ad Hoc Committees are proposed to have the following representation:

Stakeholders Committee

- 1. Agnes Artemel (Councilmember Pepper)
- 2. Jennifer Atkins (Councilmember Chapman)
- 3. Kevin Harris (Vice Mayor Bennett-Parker)
- 4. Matt Harris (Councilmember Seifeldein)
- 5. Nishita Henry (Councilmember Jackson)
- 6. Matt Keough (Councilmember Jackson)
- 7. Merrick Malone (Councilmember Chapman)
- 8. Nicole McGrew (Vice Mayor Bennett-Parker)
- 9. Michelle Millben (Mayor Wilson)
- 10. Ericka Miller (Mayor Wilson)
- 11. Mindy Lyle (Councilmember Pepper)
- 12. Ingris Moran (Councilmember Aguirre)
- 13. Honorable Joe Sestak (Councilmember Seifeldein)
- 14. Antonio Tamariz (Councilmember Aguirre)

Employee Committee

- 1. Rick Aslanian, Department of Transportation & Environmental Services (T&ES)
- 2. Carrie Beach, Planning & Zoning Department (P&Z)
- 3. Shawn Brown, Department of Recreation, Parks and Cultural Activities (RPCA)
- 4. Allyson Coleman, Department of Human and Community Services (DCHS)
- 5. Kadira Coley, Department of Finance/Retirement

- 6. Audrey Davis, Office of Historic Alexandria (OHA)
- 7. Capt. Patrick Evans, Alexandria Fire Department (AFD)
- 8. Barbara Farrington, Department of Recreation, Parks and Cultural Activities (RPCA)
- 9. Kevin Greenlief, Department of Finance/Revenue
- 10. Brian Hricik, Alexandria Fire Department (AFD)
- 11. Travis MacRae, City Attorney's Office
- 12. David Miller, Office of Human Rights
- 13. Sgt. Charlette Mitchell, Alexandria Police Department (APD)
- 14. Tarrence Moorer, Department of Transportation & Environmental Services (T&ES)
- 15. Dr. Grace Page, Department of Human Resources/Wellness (DHR)
- 16. Marvin Paz, Department of Recreation, Parks and Cultural Activities (RPCA)
- 17. Rebecca Pica, Department of Information Technology Services (ITS)
- 18. Emily Poly, Office of Management and Budget (OMB)
- 19. Keia Waters, City Clerk's Office
- 20. Dana Wedeles, City Manager's Office (CMO)
- 21. Arthur Wicks, Office of Management and Budget (OMB)
- 22. Liz Williams, Office of Historic Alexandria/Gadsby's Tavern (OHA)
- 23. Matt Wise, Department of General Services (DGS)

Leadership Committee

- 1. Joanna Anderson, City Attorney
- 2. Rose Dawson, Director, Libraries
- 3. Pamela Dudoff, Organizational Effectiveness Consultant, Office of Organizational Excellence (OOE)
- 4. Kate Garvey, Director, DCHS
- 5. Renee Gordon, Director, Department of Emergency and Customer Communications
- 6. Dr. Alicia Hart, ACPS
- 7. Don Hayes, Acting Chief, Alexandria Police Department
- 8. Jen Jenkins, Acting Director/CHRO, Department of Human Resources (DHR)
- 9. Yon Lambert, Director, T&ES
- 10. Dana Lawhorne, Sheriff
- 11. David Lord, Deputy Commonwealth's Attorney
- 12. Helen McIlvaine, Director, Office of Housing
- 13. Karl Moritz, Director, Planning and Zoning
- 14. Greg Parks, Clerk of the Courts
- 15. Vanetta Pledger, Director/CIO, Department of Information Technology Services
- 16. Gloria Sitton, City Clerk
- 17. Corey Smedley, Chief, Alexandria Fire Department
- 18. Jim Spengler, Director, RPCA and OOE
- 19. Terry Suehr, Director, Department of Project Implementation (DPI)

Sunset: The Ad Hoc Committees will sunset upon City Council selection of the new City Manager