ORDINANCE NO. 5473

AN ORDINANCE to amend and reordain Section 2-2-10 (ESTABLISHMENT OF ELECTION DISTRICTS AND VOTING PLACES) Subsection (o), of Chapter 2 (ELECTIONS), Title 2 (GENERAL GOVERNMENT) of The Code of the City of Alexandria, Virginia, 1981, as amended, to amend and reordain Section 12-1-4 (ELECTION OF SCHOOL BOARD MEMBERS; DATE AND MANNER OF ELECTION), of Chapter 1 (SCHOOL DISTRICT AND SCHOOL BOARD), Title 12 (EDUCATION, SOCIAL SERVICES AND WELFARE) of The Code of the City of Alexandria, Virginia, 1981, as amended, and to amend and reordain "The Official Map of the City of Alexandria, Virginia, Designating Election Districts and Voting Places," adopted by Section 2-2-13 (MAP OF ELECTION DISTRICTS AND VOTING PLACES), of Chapter 2 (ELECTIONS), Title 2 (GENERAL GOVERNMENT) of The Code of the City of Alexandria, Virginia, 1981, as amended.

THE CITY COUNCIL OF ALEXANDRIA HEREBY ORDAINS:

Section 1. That Section 2-2-10 Subsection (o) of The Code of the City of Alexandria, Virginia, 1981, as amended, be, and the same hereby is, amended and reordained to delete the text shown in strikethrough and add the text shown in underline as follows:

(o) The Chinquapin Park Recreation Center Alexandria City High School Election District shall be bounded and described by the census blocks shown on the map adopted by section 2-2-13 of this code as comprising the said district.

The voting place within the Chinquapin Park Recreation Center Alexandria City High School Election District shall be at the Chinquapin Park Recreation Center Alexandria City High School, located at 3210 King Street. However, the temporary voting place for the district for the November 8, 2016 election shall be T.C. Williams High School, located at 3330 King Street.

- Section 2. That Section 12-1-4 Subsection (c) of The Code of the City of Alexandria, Virginia, 1981, as amended, be, and the same hereby is, amended and reordained to delete the text shown in strikethrough and add the text shown in underline as follows:
- (c) The city shall be divided into three school board election districts, District A, District B and District C. Three school board members shall be elected from and shall represent each such district. The three districts shall be composed of the following precincts (or, as identified in <u>title 2</u> of this code, "election districts") located within the city, the boundaries of which are described in <u>section 2-2-10</u>.
- (i) District A shall be composed of the Lyles Crouch School, City Hall, Ladrey Senior Building, Fire Department Headquarters, Lee Center, George Washington Middle School, Cora Kelly "Chick" Armstrong Center, Mt. Vernon Recreation Center, Durant Center, Charles Houston, and Potomac Yard precincts;
- (ii) District B shall be composed of the Naomi L. Brooks_School, George Mason School, Blessed Sacrament Church, Temple Beth El, Northern Virginia Community College Arts Center, Charles Barrett Center, Douglas MacArthur School, Chinquapin Park Recreation Center Alexandria City High School, Ferdinand T. Day School, AlexRenew, and James K. Polk School precincts; and

- (iii) District C shall be composed of the Patrick Henry Recreation Center, Samuel Tucker School, Charles E. Beatley, Jr., Central Library, John Adams School, William Ramsay Recreation Center, Cameron Station Community Center, Olympus Condo, and South Port precincts.
- Section 3. That "The Official Map of the City of Alexandria, Virginia, Designating Election Districts and Voting Places," adopted by Section 2-2-13 of The Code of the City of Alexandria, Virginia, 1981, as amended, be, and the same hereby is, amended and reordained as shown on Exhibit 1, attached hereto and incorporated fully by reference.

Section 4. That this ordinance shall become effective upon the earlier of i) receipt by the City Attorney's Office of a Certification of No Objection by the Office of the Attorney General of Virginia, or ii) March 24, 2023, and the adjustments contained herein will be utilized for the elections in 2023 and thereafter until or unless further modified and amended.

JUSTIN/M. WILSON

Mayor

ATTEST:

Gloria A. Sitton, CMC City Clerk

Approved as to Form:

Joanna Anderson

City Attorney

Ordinance Attachments

Exhibit 1: Alexandria Voting Districts, map produced December 16, 2022

Final Passage: January 21, 2023

Attachment 3

