City of Alexandria Meeting Minutes Thursday, January 2, 2025, 6:00 PM – Rachel M. Schlesinger Concert Hall and Arts Center Special Meeting Minutes

Present: Mayor Alyia Gaskins, Vice Mayor Sarah R. Bagley, Members of Council Canek Aguirre, John Taylor Chapman, Abdel Elnoubi, Jacinta E. Greene, and R. Kirk McPike.

Absent: None.

Also Present: Mr. Parajon, City Manager and Ms. Ivery, City Attorney.

Recorded by: Gloria Sitton, City Clerk and Clerk of Council.

I. Processional with the City of Alexandria Pipes and Drums.

II. Introduction of the City Council by the Town Crier.

Benjamin Fiore-Walker, Alexandria Town Crier, introduced the City Council.

III. Call to Order of the Meeting by the City Clerk and Clerk of Council.

The meeting was called to order by Gloria Sitton, City Clerk and Clerk of Council.

IV. Presentation of the Colors by the Combined Alexandria Police, Fire, and Sheriff Joint Honor Guard.

The Combined Alexandria Police, Fire, and Sheriff Joint Honor Guard presented the colors.

V. National Anthem Song by Marchelle Toliver.

City Employee Marchelle Toliver led the audience to sing the Star Spangled Banner.

VI. Invocation by Community Faith Leaders.

The invocation for the occasion was given by the following community faith leaders: Rev. Dr. Taft Quincey Heatley, Senior Pastor, Shiloh Baptist Church; Rabbi Steven L. Rein, Agudas Achim Congregation; and Imam Zia Makhdoom, Makespace.

VII. Musical Selection by the Samuel Tucker Elementary School Students.

A musical selection was offered by the Samuel W. Tucker Elementary School Students.

VIII. Remarks by Outgoing Members of City Council.

Remarks of appreciation were offered by outgoing Mayor Justin Wilson and outgoing Vice Mayor Amy Jackson.

IX. Poems by the Jr. Poet Bryan Torres and Poet Laureate Zeina Azzam

Poetry readings were offered by Jr. Poet Bryan Torres and Poet Laureate Zeina Azzam.

X. Reading of the State of Results of the November 5, 2024 Election by The Secretary of the Electoral Board Bruce Brown.

Bruce Brow, Secretary of the Alexandria Electoral Board, read the Statement of Results of the November 5, 2024 Election declaring Alyia Gaskins as Mayor and Canek Aguirre, Sarah R. Bagley, John Taylor Chapman, Abdel-Rahman Elnoubi, Jacinta E. Greene, and R. Kirk McPike as members of City Council.

XI. Oath of Office for Mayor Alyia Gaskins to be given by the Clerk of Court Greg Parks.

Greg Parks, Clerk of the Circuit Court, administered the Oath of Office to Mayor Alyia Gaskins.

XII. Oath of Office Given to Members of City Council: Canek Aguirre, Sarah R. Bagley, John Taylor Chapman, Abdel-Rahman Elnoubi, Jacinta E. Greene, and R. Kirk McPike by the Clerk of the Court Greg Parks.

Greg Parks, Clerk of Circuit Court, administered the Oaths of Office to members of City Council: Canek Aguirre, Sarah R. Bagley, John Taylor Chapman, Abdel Rahman-Elnoubi, Jacinta E. Greene, and R. Kirk McPike.

XIII. Ethics Pledge to be Taken by the Mayor and Members of City Council.

Greg Parks, Clerk of Circuit Court, administered the Ethics Pledge to the Mayor and members of City Council.

XIV. Consideration of the Election of the Vice Mayor.

WHEREUPON, upon motion by Councilman McPike, seconded Councilwoman Greene, and carried unanimously, City Council elected Sarah R. Bagley as the Vice Mayor. The vote was as follows: In favor, Mayor Gaskins, Vice Mayor Bagley, Councilman Aguirre, Councilman Chapman, Councilman Elnoubi, Councilwoman Greene, and Councilman McPike; Opposed, none.

XV. Appointments of Members of City Council to City and Regional Boards, Commissions, and Committees.

Appointments of Members of City Council to City and Regional Boards, Commissions, and Committees.

WHEREUPON, upon motion by Vice Mayor Bagley, seconded by Councilman McPike and carried unanimously, City Council approved the appointments of member of City Council to City and Regional Boards, Commissions, and Committees as published on the agenda. The vote was as follows: In favor, Mayor Gaskins, Vice Mayor Bagley, Councilman Aguirre, Councilman Bagley, Councilman Chapman, Councilman Elnoubi, Councilwoman Greene, and Councilman McPike; Opposed, none.

XVI. Remarks by Mayor, Vice Mayor, and Members of Council.

Mayor Alyia Gaskins, Vice Mayor Sarah Bagley, and members of Council Canek Aguirre, John Taylor Chapman, Abdel Elnoubi, Jacinta Greene, and Kirk McPike offered remarks thanking their supporters and outlining their visions for the upcoming legislative term.

XVII. Remarks by Rev. Dr. Taft Quincey Heatley, Lead Pastor, Shiloh Baptist Church.

Rev. Dr. Taft Quincey Heatley, Senior Pastor, Shiloh Baptist Church offered a closing for the occasion.

XVIII. Adjournment of Meeting.

THERE BEING NO FURTHER BUSINESS TO BE CONSIDERED, upon motion by Vice Mayor Bagley, seconded by Councilwoman Greene and carried unanimously, City Council adjourned the Special Meeting of January 2, 2025 at 7:59 p.m. The vote was as follows: In favor, Mayor Gaskins, Vice Mayor Bagley, Councilman Aguirre, Councilman Chapman, Councilman Elnoubi, Councilwoman Greene, and Councilman McPike; Opposed, none.

XIX. Announcement of a Reception with Music by Yellow Door Concert Series and Live Painting by Khalid Thompson.

Mayor Gaskins thanked everyone who attended the installation and thanked many people who were instrumental in planning the event. Mayor Gaskins invited those in attendance to join the Council at reception in the Forum following adjournment.

APPROVED BY:

ALYIA GASKINS MAYOR

ATTEST:

low

Gloria A. Sitton, CMC City Clerk

Adopted: February 18, 2025